41st Annual Sock Dinner - Friday, October 11, 2013

SOCK Dinner Benefits Capuchin Soup Kitchen

Once billed as the "Men's Only" Baseball dinner, SOCK first originated in the early summer of 1942. More than one hundred men showed up for the dinner which was held in the old Soup Kitchen building on Mt. Elliott Street. Each attendee paid five dollars ($5.00) and listened to Connie Mack talk baseball for over two hours. Over the years such notables as Ted Williams, Casey Stengel, Joe Garagiola, Mickey Mantle and Satchel Paige came to the event to talk baseball.

Formally called SOCK (Support Our Capuchin Kitchen) in 1973, the event grew to become one of the most successful fundraising events in Michigan. It has been listed in Crain's Detroit Business as one of Detroit's top grossing fundraisers.

The evening now includes a cocktail reception, dinner and entertainment. Past entertainers include Johnny Trudell and his Orchestra, MOSAIC Youth Choir, and Karen Newman of Red Wing fame. A new tradition was established with the addition of a reception following the SOCK dinner. This year’s “Second Helping” Afterglow will feature, Boogie Dynomite, singing all of your favorite dance tunes from the 70's & even some from the 80's.  They will have you movin' & groovin' the night away. Along with the music and dancing, the Afterglow will feature drinks, a dessert bar, a coffee station and free parking.

Even though the format has changed, one thing has remained the same: to assist those less fortunate in the community. Metro Detroiters are still dedicated to attending and supporting this annual Soup Kitchen event. 

The outpouring of devotion has seen a number of distinguished Chairpersons including our 2014 Chairperson,  Daniel J. Pienta, President and CEO of the Eastern Michigan Business Unit of The Northern Trust Company (pictured). 

Past chairs include 2013 artist Dominic Pangborn, 2012 Chairpersons Karin and Dan Akerson, 2011 Thumper and George Haggarty, 2010 Sandra Pierce the president and CEO of Charter One Bank, Michigan, and 2009 chairman Thomas Celani .  Alan Mullaly, CEO of Ford Motor Company, Martin J. "Hoot" McInerney, Jeffrey Collins, CEO, Bons Secours Cottage Health Services, Lisa and Bill Ford of the Ford Motor Company, Darlene and Anthony Soave of Soave Enterprises; Cathy and Richard Wagoner of General Motors Corporation; Ann and Bill McCormick of CMS Energy Corporation; The Hon. Mayor Dennis W. Archer and Hon. Trudy DunCombe Archer , Mayor of the City of Detroit; Art and Mary Van Elslander of Art Van Furniture; Dr and Mrs. Dieter Zetsche of the Daimler-Chrysler Corporation are also past chairs.

Order your 2014 tickets today!